Arc flash study · India

Arc flash study for your plant in India in compliance with CEA 2023 and NFPA 70E

Every bus from HT to LT · incident energy, arc flash boundary and NFPA 70E 2027 labels, printed, installed and photographed. Signed by a Chartered Engineer and independently reviewed.

See what you receive
VB Engineering arc flash and shock risk label installed on the PMCC-1 / TRAFO-1 HT panel, stating 35 cal/cm2 at 36 inches, the arc flash boundary and the limited and restricted approach distances at 6600 V
A VB Engineering label installed on an HT panel: 35 cal/cm² at 36 inches, 6600 V, with the arc flash boundary and both approach distances stated. This is what the study is for.
Trusted by
BayerPfizerTataAdaniJswNestleRolls RoyceSyngentaCoca ColaAsian PaintsSyngeneBoschDupontDrreddysAdityaItcMahindraKiaHindalcoAmazonSiemensAbinAmnsJindal Steel
BayerPfizerTataAdaniJswNestleRolls RoyceSyngentaCoca ColaAsian PaintsSyngeneBoschDupontDrreddysAdityaItcMahindraKiaHindalcoAmazonSiemensAbinAmnsJindal Steel
1,000+
Studies delivered
10,000+
Qualified persons certified
2014
Practising since
21
Countries served
Still have doubt?

Indian law names arc flash. In writing.

Search for arc flash in India and you will be told, repeatedly, that no Indian regulation names it and that the obligation is only implied. That is not correct. The words are in the instrument.

CEA 2023 · Regulation 21(2)
“Every person who is working on an electric supply line or apparatus or both shall be provided with, … (b) any other device for protecting him from mechanical and electrical injury due to arc flash and such personal protective equipment, tools and devices shall conform to the relevant standards and shall always be maintained in sound working condition.”
Central Electricity Authority (Measures relating to Safety and Electric Supply) Regulations, 2023 · Regulation 21, Handling of electric supply lines and apparatus.

Read the duty carefully and the study is already inside it. The equipment must protect against arc flash injury, and it must conform to the relevant standards. No one can select conforming arc flash PPE without knowing the incident energy at that working position. The obligation to provide the protection assumes somebody has calculated it.

That calculation is the arc flash study. Nothing else produces the number. Buy arc-rated clothing without modelling the network and you are holding equipment you cannot prove is right for the hazard. The first question at a serious audit is never what did you buy. It is what is the incident energy here, and how do you know.

The number the whole discipline turns on

What the arc flash boundary actually is

The arc flash boundary is the distance at which incident energy falls to 1.2 cal/cm², about 5 J/cm² · the threshold at which a person with bare skin would receive the onset of a second degree burn. Inside it, arc-rated protection is required. IEEE 1584-2018 is the method used to calculate it.

IEEE 1584-2018 normalises its low voltage model on a 20 inch by 20 inch enclosure opening, and the standard low voltage reference working distance is 18 inches. Those assumptions matter, because the boundary is not a property of the equipment on its own. It is a property of the fault current available, the time the protection takes to clear, and where the worker is standing.

An arc flash occurs when current jumps an air gap between conductors, usually because something bridged them: a dropped spanner, a rodent, moisture tracking across a dirty insulator, or a loose connection heating quietly for months until it fails. That is also why more than one boundary exists. NFPA 70E sets a limited approach boundary and a restricted approach boundary for shock, and the arc flash boundary sits independently of both, because shock and thermal exposure are different hazards that stop being dangerous at different distances. A plant that has marked only one of those boundaries has marked the wrong thing half the time.

Three key factors determine the intensity of an Arc Flash on personnel. These factors are the quantity of fault current available in a system, the time taken for successful short circuit interruption, and the distance an individual is from a fault Arc. Change the protection settings and you change the incident energy without touching a single cable, which is why coordination and arc flash are one piece of work and not two.

The Arc rating is the maximum incident energy resistance demonstrated by a material prior to breaking open (a hole in the material) or necessary to pass through and cause with 50% probability a second or third degree burn. That is the number printed on the garment label, and it is the number that has to exceed the incident energy we calculate at that working position.

On site

How the study runs on an Indian plant

The scope unit is the bus. Not the site, not the building, not a vague count of panels. Every bus from HT switchgear to LT distribution, and you should ask any firm quoting you for that number before you compare prices.

VB engineer photographing an 11 kV switchgear panel with a tablet during evidence capture
Nameplate and internal evidence captured at the panel, photographed as it was found.

Evidence, then model, then verify

Transformer impedances, cable sizes and lengths, breaker and relay types, and the settings that are actually in the relay rather than the ones in the drawing. On a brownfield plant they disagree. That gap is where the incident energy hides.

We model in ETAP, PTW SKM and CYME according to what the client's own engineering standard specifies, then run load flow, short circuit and protective device coordination before any arc flash result is produced. An incident energy figure taken without coordination behind it is a number, not a finding.

We work to NFPA 70E 2027 for the work practices, IEEE 1584-2018 for the calculation and IEEE 1584.1-2022 for the scope. NEC 2026 goes in where a client standard, an EPC contract or a multinational parent requires the American code alongside CEA 2023. It carries no legal force in India. It carries procurement force, and a study that cannot show it fails a check it should have passed.

Where the protection has never been proved, we say so. Relay testing is a separate scope. If a relay has not been secondary injection tested since commissioning, the clearing time our model runs on is an assumption. Not a measurement. We would rather say that at the quotation stage than print it on a label.

What we do not do

We do not issue results from a drawing set alone, and we do not report a bus we were not shown. Access refused, or a panel we could not safely open, appears in the report as a stated exclusion. Never as an assumption.

The deliverable that reaches the plant floor

Printed, installed, and photographed

A study that ends as a PDF changes nothing. The label on the panel door is the only part of this work an operator will ever read, and it has to be legible to the person actually opening that door.

We print every label, install it, and photograph it in place. The photographs are returned with the report as a conformance record, so the plant can show which equipment carries a current label and which does not, without walking the site again.

Label content follows NFPA 70E 2027, 130.5(H). Note that 130.5(F) permits either the incident energy analysis method or the arc flash PPE category method, but not both on the same piece of equipment. Mixing them is a common finding. An auditor spots it in seconds.

The language on the label is not a detail. An operator who cannot read the warning has not been warned. Where the workforce needs it, we print in the regional language alongside English.

Installed VB Engineering arc flash warning label in Multilingual 路 Hindi + English, showing incident energy, working distance and the arc flash boundary
A multilingual DANGER label going onto an outdoor HT switchboard, in Kannada, Hindi and Tamil alongside English.
MCC cubicle bank with a VB Engineering arc flash warning label fitted to every door alongside the rotary isolator handles
A completed MCC bank: every door carries its own label, because every door is its own working position with its own incident energy.

One label per door, not one per room

Incident energy is a property of the bus, not of the building. Two cubicles side by side on the same lineup can carry very different numbers, because the protection upstream of each is different. A single notice at the door of the switchroom tells an operator nothing about the panel he is standing in front of.

That is also the honest answer to why a study is priced per bus. The label count and the bus count are the same number, and any quotation that does not state it is not a quotation you can compare.

The people who have to use it

A label is only as good as the person reading it

VB Engineering has delivered 1,000+ studies since 2014 and certified 10,000+ qualified persons through Drona VR immersive training.

Plant personnel seated in a site training room during a VB Engineering electrical safety session delivered on the client's premises
Site training, delivered at the plant rather than as a webinar.
Plant operator wearing a VR headset in a switchgear aisle during a VB Engineering immersive electrical safety session, guided by a VB facilitator
Immersive rehearsal of an energised task in the aisle where it will actually be performed.

Qualification is not a formality here. CEA 2023 Regulation 5(2) sets a minimum standard for the Electrical Safety Officer, and Regulation 21(3) requires that no person operates or maintains an electrical installation unless designated to do so and observing the precautions in Schedule I. A study handed to an undesignated workforce satisfies nobody.

The deliverable

What you receive, and who signs it

Arc flash analysis services are quoted and delivered here as one connected scope, not as four studies billed apart and stapled together. The arc flash protection service continues past the report: labels fitted, the workforce trained on what those labels say, and a stated position on every bus we could not reach.

The model and the studies

Load flow, short circuit, protective device coordination and incident energy, delivered as one connected model rather than four disconnected reports.

Single line diagram, as verified

Redrawn to what was found on site, with every deviation from the existing drawing set listed rather than silently corrected.

Incident energy schedule

Per bus, with the arc flash boundary, working distance and the arc rating required at that position.

Labels, installed

Printed, fitted to the panel and photographed in place, returned as a conformance record.

Mitigation, where it is worth doing

Settings changes that cut incident energy come first. No steel, no cable, no capex.

Stated exclusions

Every bus we could not access, and why. An honest gap beats a confident guess.

A study investigating a worker’s potential exposure conducted for the purpose of injury prevention and the determination of safe work practices and appropriate levels of PPE. That is what this is, and that is the standard it is written to.

Every report is signed by a Chartered Engineer and independently reviewed by a second engineer who did not perform the work. The reviewer's job is to disagree, and a report that has never been argued about has not been reviewed.

For the record

India counts electrical accidents. It does not count arc flash.

One last thing, for anyone who has to justify the spend internally. The Central Electricity Authority recorded 6,342 human fatalities and 2,554 non-fatal injuries from electrical accidents in India in FY 2024-25. Among the causes CEA names are neglect of safety measures and lack of supervision, inadequate maintenance, and accidental contact with live equipment. No Indian dataset counts arc flash separately: CEA, NCRB and DGFASLI each record electrical accidents as one category. That is exactly why incident energy has to be calculated at your plant, bus by bus, rather than inferred from a national figure.

Three of the causes CEA publishes are the three an arc flash study, a printed label and a trained workforce are built to address. The regulator has already described the problem. What it cannot tell you is the number at your incomer.

Two VB engineers in hi-vis recording data from a motor control centre lineup with labelled feeder cubicles during a plant walkdown
Feeder-by-feeder capture at a motor control centre. The national figure is an average; your incident energy is a measurement.
Questions we are asked in India

Questions from Indian plants

Is an arc flash study mandatory in India?

Yes, in substance and in enforcement. CEA 2023 Regulation 21(2)(b) requires that every person working on an electric supply line or apparatus be provided with a device protecting against injury due to arc flash, conforming to the relevant standards. Conformity cannot be demonstrated without an incident energy figure, and the figure comes from the study.

Above 250 kW connected load, CEA 2023 Regulation 5(3) also requires a designated Electrical Safety Officer who inspects the installation at intervals not exceeding one year and keeps the record on a prescribed form, available to the Electrical Inspector.

What is the arc flash boundary?

The distance at which incident energy falls to 1.2 cal/cm², roughly 5 J/cm², which is the onset of a second degree burn on bare skin. Inside that distance arc-rated protection is required. It is calculated, never looked up. Fault current, clearing time and working distance decide it, and all three are specific to that bus.

How is arc flash incident energy calculated?

To IEEE 1584-2018, from the available fault current and the protective device clearing time at each bus. The 2018 model normalises on a 20 inch by 20 inch enclosure opening, and the standard low voltage reference working distance is 18 inches. This is why protection coordination has to be settled before an incident energy result means anything.

What is an arc flash study?

A connected set of power system studies ending in an incident energy result per bus: load flow, short circuit, protective device coordination, then arc flash. It produces the boundary, the required arc rating and the label content for each piece of equipment, and it identifies where a settings change would lower the hazard.

You will also see the same work called an arc flash hazard assessment, an arc flash risk assessment or an arc flash analysis. In the Indian market these names are used interchangeably. Ask what the scope covers and how many buses it includes, because that is what differs between quotations, not the title on the cover.

How long does an arc flash study take?

Bus count decides it. So does how much of your drawing set survives contact with the plant. Data capture is the variable. Modelling is not. We quote against a stated bus count and a stated access plan, and we tell you before we start which parts of your drawing set are likely wrong.

How often should an arc flash study be updated?

Two clocks run, and they do different jobs. NFPA 70E sets the review of the arc flash risk assessment at intervals not exceeding five years. CEA 2023 Regulation 5(3) is separate and shorter. Above 250 kW connected load the designated Electrical Safety Officer inspects the installation at intervals not exceeding one year, and records it on a prescribed form.

The calendar is the floor, not the rule. Any change to the network invalidates the number before either clock runs out. A new transformer, a changed relay setting, an added feeder, a revised fault level from the utility. Incident energy is a calculated result, and the inputs moved.

Ask your utility for the fault level in writing once a year. If it has moved, your labels are already wrong, and no calendar would have told you.

What should an arc flash study scope of work include?

There is a standard written for exactly this question and almost nobody uses it. IEEE 1584.1-2022 is the Guide for the Specification of Scope and Deliverable Requirements for an arc flash hazard calculation study. It exists so an owner can write a scope a bidder cannot read loosely. It covers three-phase 50 or 60 Hz systems at 1000 V and below, so every 415 V board in an Indian plant sits inside it.

A scope worth issuing states the bus count, who collects the data and who supplies it, the calculation standard and its edition, the deliverables, the label format and language, and who signs the report. Anything vaguer produces quotations you cannot compare.

Send us a single line diagram and we will draft that scope for you, in your name, before you go to tender. You are then free to issue it to anyone you like.

What is the difference between an arc flash study and an electrical safety audit?

An electrical safety audit asks whether the installation is safe against a checklist. An arc flash study asks a narrower and harder question: if this bus faults while somebody is standing in front of it, how much energy reaches them, and what must they be wearing. The audit is broad and comparative. The study is a calculation, and it produces a number you can print on a door.

Is arc flash testing the same as an arc flash study?

No. And the difference decides whether two quotes can be compared at all. Arc flash testing means a physical test: proving a relay trips at the setting it is supposed to, or confirming arc-rated clothing meets the rating on its label. An arc flash study is a calculation across the whole network. The study tells you what the energy is; testing confirms the equipment behaves the way the study assumed it would. A study built on relay settings nobody has tested is built on an assumption. So we ask when the protection was last proved.

Do you have engineers near me?

We operate globally. Our teams deliver arc flash studies in more than 20 countries, and our systems are digitised end to end, from data capture through modelling and independent review to label production. We can assess a plant and deliver the arc flash report anywhere in the world.

Proximity decides the travel plan. It does not decide whether the work can be done. What matters is that the team that walked your plant is the team that builds the model, and the engineer who saw the panel is the one who answers for the number.

How much does an arc flash study cost in India?

It is priced against bus count, site access and how much verification the existing drawing set needs, so a figure quoted before any of those are known is not a price, it is a guess. Send us a bus count and a single line diagram and you will get a scoped number. If a competing vendor does not state the bus count their quote covers, the two quotes are not comparable and you should ask before you decide.

Start here

Tell us your bus count. We will tell you the scope.

Send a single line diagram and a connected load figure and we will come back with the bus count we would study, the access we would need, and what your team would have to make available. No obligation, and no figure invented before we understand the network.